Sign in to follow this  
Harry

Vancouver Diary XII : Fall '06

Harry

Vancouver Diary XII: Fall '06

Fall2006.jpg

Welcome to the twelfth season of Vancouver Diary.

The vertical rays of the sun will cross the equator tonight at 9.03 pm PST ( 12.03 am Saturday 23 September in Toronto). Tomorrow ( Saturday) morning is the first morning of Fall in Canada. I trust everyone has had a great summer and is busy back at work. This is the time of year when Vancouver gets down to business in a big way, and one can see it from the upramp in traffic immediately after Labour Day. This is also the time of year when the bears get down to serious eating for hibernation in November. It is also the season when the clouds roll in and the rain really starts..which is why I chose the picture! Many Fall gardens still have lots of flowers, though.

I've been manning the Van Diaries for almost 3 years now and I've now been in Canada for 6 years and 3-1/2 months. So, my own experience with this immigration thing is now very dated. Quite possibly I do not know anymore what is NOW important to people who want to settle here or have just arrived. Over this period the value of the rand almost halved and then almost doubled again and then started slowly sliding again from a Canadian dollar being 4.5 rand to now R6.6 in its traditional style. Inflation in SA first skyrocketed and then went down to the lowest in decades again. House prices there had stagnated when I left and then took off in hysterical fashion in the last four years, increasing fivefold in some cases. I did not live through any of that in SA. I cringe at the prices I hear folks now have to pay for stuff in SA. Back, when I arrived in 2000, things cost 2.5 times as much in Canada as in SA. Now they do not differ dramatically.

I just know that my life would have been vastly easier in 2000 if SACanada had been around at the time. So I carry on with the Diaries in the hope that they're helpful in some way.

CharleneK