Sign in to follow this  
Guest CharlvS

Driving habits in Calgary

Guest Zordak

Hi all...

You all have probably read that one bloke's views on his site "A few things I wished I knew before moving to Calgary" to be found here: Click this!.

In there the guy mentions that Calgarians are rather ill-mannered drivers. How true is this? Are they as bad as Capetonians? Because we hate the driver mentality here. Can any Calgarians perhaps shed some light on this? :o

Hope you guys had a wonderful weekend.

Cheers!

Charl

Luvette

I have often thought that I find more inconsideration, intolerance, spitefulness and aggressiveness on the roads in Calgary than what I experienced in Cape Town area.

Luvette

Eugene

As a Calgary police officer I can concur that a lot of Cgy drivers are rather poor.

I have to say that I think they are worse that Cape Town (being from CPT myself).

A majority of t-stops i conduct are for: speeding, not stopping at a stop sign, unsignalled lane changes, unsafe left turns, illegal u-turns, seatbelts, and the list goes on.

Honestly, i think that Canada should perhaps implement the k-53 driver training test, like we had in SA.

Rolé

Well, I've been in Calgary for a year now and we have no big complaints. You get the odd driver doing something stupid, but generally it usually all goes smoothly. I have to add here that I stay at home, so don't have to contend with rush-hour traffic, which will probably be a beast of a different colour altogether. But in my day-to-day doings and drivings I can't complain.

Luvette