Sign in to follow this  
Jeanne-M

Is it worth it to try to get an ITA with low points, and other questions

Jeanne-M

Does anyone think that it is worth going through the process of entering the Express Entry pool if one only has about 440 points? We need to rewrite our IELTS, since it has expired since we last attempted this process, but everything else is still valid. Not sure whether we should attempt this again, or if we should rather save our money to try for Australia (or NZ, if all else fails). Any thoughts?

My partner will be the main applicant, so is it worthwhile get my extra post-graduate degree verified to help to boost our application? Any ideas how long that takes nowadays, if using MIE and WES for a Tuks degree?

Other questions:

• I am a freelancer (so obviously self-employed, but with no registered business). Has anyone been able to get points for this type of employment?
  • If you were planning on emigrating to Canada, would you delay starting a family until you actually got to Canada, or would you have a child in South Africa and go through the process of adding the baby to your application?
  • Is it realistic to expect to find decent work as a financial manager in the Maritimes, or is that a pipe dream?
  • How long has it take you to feel somewhat settled?
  • What is the average amount of time for an Express Entry application to be processed, in your experience?

Would appreciate any input!

LidiaS77

Hi @Jeanne-M