Sign in to follow this  
Casio1812

PR application - Provincial Nomination

Casio1812

I am looking at moving to Canada through the PR program, but I do not have enough points (417) for the Express Entry program. I've read one of the best ways to get more points is through the Provincial Nomination programs. I have 5 years experience teaching English as a foreign language, and wonder if my work experience in this area will help me to get a Provincial Nomination. I found my NOC code: "4021 College and other vocational instructors" which lists language school instructor under its occupations, which is Skill Type A. I do not know if this I would be able to qualify for any Provincial Nomination programs and how to check this. I would like to move to Ontario, but am open to other places. I am currently finishing my final year BA majoring in English and Linguistics, and looking to move as soon as possible after graduating at the end of the year. I am also considering trying to apply for a Student Visa and do a Post-Graduate degree there as a back up option. I have excellent results academically so if there are good scholarship opportunities for funding for post-graduate courses I would consider that too. I look forward to receiving any help and advice, thanks! 

MaryJane

Hi @Casio1812

417 is not too bad but you are right, we haven't seen draws having points that low as yet. (PS I think there was once before but for the life of me, I can't recall the lowest points, 417, 419?)

Anyway, I'd be frank that TEFL is not really an in-demand profession in Canada. I know of some people who teach English as a foreign language, but they mostly concentrate on markets outside Canada.

I'd suggest going for a Student Visa (if you can), but this will require some monies/funding. It is more expensive to study in Canada as an international student so you will need to show you can afford this.