Sign in to follow this  
tripwireza

Not enough Express entry points so plan B how to get a work visa ?

tripwireza

Our Story so far

So my Wife and myself have done our IELTS exams , we did our degree equivalency via WES both are 4 year Degrees. But Due to age , myself being 41 and my wife 32. Our EE points are 310 for myself as primary or else 350 if she was. Then if we have more than out 7.5 average in IELTS to a max of 9 , we will only get 40 point more thus < 400 Points in general.

So that means I need to get a Work Visa, but cannot go looking for work. What can we do ?? Time is ticking and doing more studies is worth less than the years etc loss via age ?  I feel totally powerless , stuck here unable to get my wife and kids out. I have lots of work experience as a Developer for Big Government Projects , Universities etc . but the system is rather impersonal and only looks at a number not your story

*We looked at NZ also but you cannot get in with out work and you may not go look for work. Aus rules to get in is also hard with a very high IELTS expected and we don`t like Aus even if it could be a spring board to NZ after x years

Thanks for your help

Edited by tripwireza

GrantM
9 hours ago, tripwireza said:

*We looked at NZ also but you cannot get in with out work and you may not go look for work.

Not true. You can go in with a visitor visa, look for work and even attend an interview but you cannot work while on a visitor visa.

https://www.immigration.govt.nz/new-zealand-visas/already-have-a-visa/my-situation-has-changed/visit/can-i-come-to-nz-as-a-visitor-to-look-for-a-job

Lizelle

And once you get a job offer in NZ, it generally takes you all of 1 week to get a work permit.  I would look on the NZ work sites if I were you, and apply for work (https://www.seek.co.nz/ is the most used one, I think).  If it looks like there's a lot of vacancies, apply for work.