geesudden

The single road

geesudden

Hello everyone,

I've been contemplating moving for many years, and have never really made that definite decision to do so. Of course I have given it a lot of thought, but as with most things, time is knocking and once again I find myself in this mindset of wanting to change my life. I'm not too sure how many peeps here have made the move over as a single person? I have come to realise, that this really my biggest 'fear' and mountain to climb - that of having to make a move by myself and not have family to back me up or be supportive and with me in the process. I am 42 years old and realise that opportunities will not come by that often anymore and it will become more difficult the older I get. 

Jobwise, there could possibly be opportunities within the company I am currently working for in SA (possibly Vancouver / Toronto / Halifax). But getting back to my question - are there anyone out there with advice for a single person? Any questions, advice etc will be gladly appreciated :) 

KJ

Jules

I think emigration is harder as a single person unless you are moving to a country where you have extended family already there. Couples have the benefit of being able to lean on one another and loneliness isn’t a factor. I have huge respect for singles who pull it off. 

Nelline

I agree with Jules, however making such a big move as a couple can also be fraught with problems. If the relationship isn't rock-solid and able to "flow with the punches" it's going to go badly wrong - I know a few couples who split and it was entirely due to the pressures and stress of emigration. Having said that, I also think these people would probably have split anyway at some point, it may just have taken longer... the emigration part was the catalyst of the inevitable, probably

We actually have a friend due to land pretty soon as a single person. He has no family here. He'll do what most of us do and find friends who become like family.