Sign in to follow this  
Melissa Erasmus

Melissa: New member looking for guidance

Melissa Erasmus

Dear All

Thank you for accepting me on this Forum. I've prayed about this decision and I'm excited and nervous at the same time. Reading through some of the material is quite daunting and somewhat overwhelming. I'm just getting started with the application process. I'm 35yrs old with 2 daughters aged 8 and 6. I'm a qualified pharmacist in South Africa with 10 years experience in the field. I am ready to make the move to Canada.

Please can you offer some guidance; where do I start? I'm a single parent; so I need to find out about child care and schools in safe areas. What areas to apply for and since I would like to work and live in Canada; what Visa should I apply for.

Look forward to hearing your feedback; and thank you for all assistance

Melissa

• Like 1

pandaCat

Hi Melissa,

I am going through the process myself with Express Entry (which is the easiest if your CRS points are approx >440).

I found this guide very helpful to outline the steps and explain all the acronyms: 

I would start by calculating your CRS score with: http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/immigrate/skilled/crs-tool.asp

Thats just my 2c, I am sure you will get some good advice on this forum. Good luck!

• Like 1

Nelline

Welcome Melissa!
It's really hard to give guidance when it's such a broad field - there are many many routes you can take but you need to do the homework. I know it can feel daunting and overwhelming but how do you eat an elephant - one bite at a time. Start with reading as much as possible, the post @pandaCat gave is a great place to start. Also, read read read on the CIC website: https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/immigrate-canada.html

Then, start asking questions as you go along. You'll get a much more detailed and VALUABLE response to more specific questions, rather than "what should I do?"