4DEE

Province choice for Engineers

4DEE

Hello all .I'm new to the forum.

I am a professionally technologist and I am considering choosing Alberta as my province of immigration.What do other immigrant engineers think of Albeta? Idealy,I prefer EPCM firms that do industrial projetcs like water ,petrochemical ,mineral processing ,energy (as long its not building services).  

Anyone else here who went to Alberta or considering Albeta as province?

Andrew and Tash

Hi 4DEE

I'm a mechanical engineer, and received PNP from Ontario. My understanding of Alberta is that it's very much based on oil and gas, and that there had been a downturn in activity the last few years. From what I've researched thus far it looks as though Ontario has a lot of opportunities in all of the sectors you mentioned, except perhaps petrochemical. I'm from the EPCM environment myself and it looks like all the major companies are represented in all provinces, but with most offices in Ontario.

• Like 1

4DEE

Thank you very much Andrew and Tash for giving me valuable insight.I will need to do some extensive research there.To boost my EE points ,I will have to secure a job offer since provincial nomination requires you to be already in Canada (work permit or perm residence : I speak under correction here )?

Will explore Ontario.Congrats on your Ontario PNP. Its encouraging to hear such news.

MaryJane
30 minutes ago, 4DEE said:

To boost my EE points ,I will have to secure a job offer since provincial nomination requires you to be already in Canada (work permit or perm residence : I speak under correction here )?

Not necessarily.

Some PNPs do not require a job offer. These are quite popular streams though and tend to fill up quickly.

You may want to explore some of these streams if you feel you require a boost in your EE score.

Good luck!

• Like 1

TJG