HopefullySoon

Settlement funds and visa options

HopefullySoon

My husband and I want to immigrate to Canada, and I will be the main applicant.

I am a secondary school teacher by qualification, but a primary school teacher by job description and experience. My husband is a construction project manager. 

We are well aware that securing a job before we depart is slim to none, but suppose we are able to (without getting our hopes up), what do we do visa-wise?

We want to ideally get PR through the EE route, but we are also willing to go over on a work permit if this is possible. 

If we go over on a work permit OR if we can secure a job offer to submit along with our EE application, is there still a required settlement amount? (Does a job offer cancel out the need to show a specific amount of money?)

Does securing a provincial nomination speed up the process significantly?

Excuse my many questions, we are still new to the process and don’t know all of the ins and outs yet. 

Lizelle
Posted (edited)

If you secure a work permit, then the settlement amount is not needed.

However, securing a job as a teacher will be exceedingly difficult, even with full PR and being in Canada.  Those jobs are continuing to get slashed, and budgets have been frozen for some time.  I also believe that a lot of those jobs are unionized.  Your husband will have a better chance securing a job (though I would be very surprised if he will be able to get one from South Africa.  Construction is doing pretty good, but it is not facing severe shortages to such an extent).

If you are able to secure provincial nomination (again, not something that I think has a good chance of happening), then you will be selected earlier in the EE pool (your points will be higher, so you will be selected the next time a selection happens).  Getting the provincial nomination seems to be a long process, though.