Avital

Hi everyone,

I am new to the forum and I have seen a lot of helpful information on the forum so thanks so much for this.

My husband, our 7 month old son and I have decided that we would like to start a brighter future in Canada. After seeing an agent and doing intensive research and reading, we decided that we would attempt to apply ourselves.

I am experiencing an issue with getting my education recognized and wanted to find out if anyone else has gone through something similar.

I studied an International Professional Advanced Chef Management Diploma through Capsicum Culinary Studio. This course was a 2 year course but I received three separate diplomas for the course: Diploma in Patisserie, Diploma in Food Preparation & Cooking and an Advanced Diploma in Culinary Arts. These Diplomas are from City & Guilds and are level IVQ 2 & IVQ 3.

It was advised to me to go through BCIT to have my education assessed but they are not even considering it to be a 1 year course. This is the reply I received from them: "Thank you for your email.  Please note the credential that has been submitted is out of scope of what we can assess.  We cannot do this credential because it less than one-year duration and it is a trans-national credential.  You are welcome to apply with any other academic credentials the client may have. " I would like to try and have it assessed through IQAS as this was another company recommended to me by the agent but IQAS requires me to pay up front - which I don't mind doing if I get the results I need but of course this cannot be guaranteed.

Any advise on the matter would be greatly appreciated.

I am currently studying a business degree part time so if all else fails we will wait to apply at the end of next year, but if my previous course is recognized - we can start the process earlier.

Thanks in advance!

Nelline