CandD

PhD in Physics, what now?

CandD

Hi all,

I graduated in June 2016 with a PhD in experimental solid state Physics with a specialization in superconductivity and magnetism, I know this might be a bit over the top to state this, but it seems that most of the job based threads want a person to list their specialization and this is mine.  I will be picking up my PR VISA on Monday and we are planning on activating the PR in Feb 2018 and naturally staying.  Currently I am a lecturer at a university. So now for the questions:

1) I have started applying for jobs as I can now state that I am eligible to work in Canada, I do mention my landing date.  How likely is it that I will get an Skype interview and is their something I can do to improve my chances of getting one?

2) Academic jobs are fairly scarce and I am looking to move more into an applied science or analysis role anyway. Is the non-academic job enviroment welcoming or weary of such a change in career direction?

3) Where is the best hunting grounds for these kind of jobs: Ottawa, Toronto and British Columbia? I know these places also have the highest competition for said positions so finding a balance between job density and compertition is one of the biggest challenges. 

4) With respect to networking how does one initiate a conversation, via Linkedin for example?  My experience with networking is at academic conferences in which there are sessions where people present their research and people who are in the same field may approach each other and discuss ideas and possible collaboration.  

I do apologize if these seem a bit stupid or obvious questions, but these are the questions that are currently plaguing me.  Thank you in advance. 

Nettie