Sign in to follow this  
CarlaBekker

Industrial Design in Canada

CarlaBekker

Hi there,

I am a newby to all of this. My boyfriend/life partner and I want to immigrate to Canada. I am an Industrial Designer and have been told that it will be best if we try get a visa on my 'qualifications' etc. So here is my questions:

Are there any Industrial Designers who has moved over?

How easy did you find it to find work while still in RSA? Would it be possible to find work before we go over?

I've had a few people tell me that it might be easier to apply for my Masters degree over there and then apply for residency once I've completed my studies, is this true?. I've already started with my Masters in Cape Town but should be able to transfer the research I have done thus far.

Has anyone taken a pet over?

I would assume that Industrial Design being on the scales skills list would make it a little easier to get the right paperwork. I contacted an immigration company in Cape Town and the gent who I spoke to had a nasty attitude because we are only in the fishing stages right now and wasn't ready to move right away. It would be great to hear from other people in a similar industry that has made the move. A person can only learn so much from online blogs.

Also, is it ridiculous to be hoping to find work in specific cities or is it best to just grab what you can find in the beginning?

Thank you for any advice in advance, hope to be meeting some of you in Canada soon!

MaryJane

Welcome to the forums, Carla!

I'm not in the same industry so I can't comment much on outlook and job market situation for your field.

Were you planning to come here as a permanent resident? Sorry, it was not mentioned on your post but it sounded like you wanted to make a permanent move so I assumed and am answering your question as if you can and will apply for PR.