CarinGHT

Biologist and related fields

CarinGHT

Dear Forum Members

We are considering Canada as an option once I am finished up with my studies. I am currently working as a biodiversity officer within a provincial government department. I have 10 years' experience in permitting wild fauna and flora, biodiversity policy development etc. I am also close to finishing up a PhD in Ecology (focusing on botany/conservation biology).

Are there any biologists out there with good and/or bad experiences with regards to finding a job in this field in Canada (once they have received their PR status)? The environment/legislation is so vastly different to SA.

I also have over 10 years' GIS experience at the expert level where I use various GIS programs for habitat modelling/image processing etc. I am guessing that I should focus on looking for GIS jobs rather than a job as a wildlife biologist as I may be able to transfer my GIS skills rather than my SA experience in species identification/legislative/biodiversity issues relevant only in the South African context.

Has anyone tried applying for a job as a biologist from SA before receiving PR status or would this be a futile effort? Any feedback regarding experiences in searching for a biologist/GIS jobs in Canada in would be greatly appreciated.

We have started applying for passports, the IELTS test and WES conversions are the next step so still in the very early stages of eventually registering an Express Entry profile.

Thanks

pretor

Your best bet would be consulting companies.  I'm a chemist but working in the environmental field.  I have quite a few colleagues who're working in the area of biodiversity and environmental monitoring.  Drop me a PM and we can chat some more.

K&U

HI Pretor and CarinGHT,

I also work in the environmental field and am looking at going over. 

I have an MSc and quite a few years experience in environmental management, some monitoring, assessment, etc.