Sign in to follow this  
JennyVee

Immigrating to Ontario as a Freelancer

JennyVee

Hello

Hubby and I have been trying to move to Ontario for a year now. We were at 451 points, but then I turned 35 and we were shunted down the list. We remember something about going over as a self-employed individual, and just needing x amount of money to show that we can support ourselves. Thing is, I can't find any info about this, and we don't want to book another consultation with an immigration lawyer/advisor unless it's a real option.

Are we just making things up or is there any stream like this? I'm a writer, and hubby works in the film industry.

If I'm ignoring the obvious please excuse me. I'm pregnant, we have a toddler and so my brain is cheese.

Edited by JennyVee
forgot a tag
  • Like 1

MaryJane

You might be referring to this - http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/immigrate/business/self-employed/index.asp

It includes farmers and people working in cultural activities. Here is more definition of what is cultural activities - http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/helpcentre/answer.asp?qnum=291&top=6

For the money requirement, there is no set amount. It links back to the EE proof of funds though so the assumption would be to use it as a gauge. And then add some. Here's what CIC said: http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/helpcentre/answer.asp?qnum=294&top=6

Hope this helps.

JennyVee

Thanks @MaryJane This is exactly the info we need :) 

JennyVee

Just a follow up question, @MaryJane, we were told by an immigration consultant that the average timeframe for processing and immigrating through the self-employed persons stream is eight years. Does this sound right to you?!

FaithFUL

It would appear that the self-employed route is a paper based application so the chances are good that the timeframe might be longer.

I don't see any references to Express Entry in the self-employed section as per MJ's link above, but then again, I could have missed it.

JennyVee