Sign in to follow this  
Steve_PE

Canadian Marriage

Steve_PE

Hey Everyone,

I'm currently based in Port Elizabeth, South Africa. I'm in the process of building up the courage to ask my girlfriend to marry me after dating for 5 years :)

However she's Canadian and needs to stay there because of her kid. Can anyone direct me around the Canadian marriage laws? Knowing that I need to move up there, what do I need to apply for a working visa? Am I Allowed to work?

My profession is SAP consulting, which allows me to work remotely from time to time. If I'm not allowed to work in Canada for a period of time, will I be able to contract work from South Africa but be based in Canada?

Thanks,

Stephen

Stefan

Ah, love. It makes the world go world go around, or at least it makes some of us go around the world.

There is such a thing as spousal sponsorship, for those in a marriage or common-law relationship. More details can be found on the CIC website (or search spousal sponsorship on this forum). I met my bokkie here in Canada while on a work permit (several renewals actually), got married and then she sponsored me for permanent residence.

It all takes time, so start soon - soon after you're married, or living together - and collect photos and details so that when the application is sent in, you can prove that the relationship is genuine. That's important for a spousal sponsorship kind of immigration.

Mind you, there are other ways of immigrating, and the info is on this forum.

Welcome, Stephen, good luck with the proposal and... everything else!

Guest AdamC

Hey Steve

I recently married a Canadian (last year) and went through the spousal sponsorship route back in 2010.