Sign in to follow this  
Harry

Vancouver Diary XVI : Fall 2007

Harry

Vancouver Diary XVI: Fall '07

fall05.JPG

Welcome to the sixteenth season of Vancouver Diary.

I trust everyone has had a great summer and is busy back at work. This is the time of year when Vancouver gets down to business in a big way, and one can see it from the upramp in traffic immediately after Labour Day. This is also the time of year when the bears get down to serious eating for hibernation in November. We have not seen them this year so far, though. It is also the season when the clouds roll in and the rain really starts...November being really bad!

Many Fall gardens still have lots of flowers, though, as hinted at by the picture. In this, Vancouver differs from most of the continental Canada, where the flower season is pretty much over. I leave it to the folks in those parts to prove otherwise.

I've been manning the Van Diaries for almost 4 years now and I've now been in Canada for 7 years and 3-1/2 months. So, my own experience with this immigration thing is now highly dated. Many rules have changed in both Canada and South Africa. Quite possibly I do not know anymore what is NOW important to people who want to settle here or have just arrived.

Over this period the value of the rand almost halved and I saw South Africans arriving here crying. Then it almost doubled again and then started slowly sliding again from a Canadian dollar being R4.5 to now about R7 in its traditional style.