Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'taxes'.

More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


  • Immigration
    • General
    • Application
    • Coffee Clubs
    • LSD Trips & Arrivals
    • Settling In
    • Schools & Education
    • Going back?
  • Discussions
    • Foyer
    • General
    • Events
    • Communities
    • Money!
    • Home and Hearth
    • Health and Wellness
    • Ladies' Lounge
    • Spiritual Life
    • Lost-n-Found
    • Journals
    • Places of Interest
    • Travel
    • Youth
    • Funnies
  • Advertising
    • Classifieds
    • KuierKoerier¬©
  • Employment
    • Queries, Tips and News
    • Networking
    • Looking
    • Offering
    • Business
  • News from South Africa
    • General
    • Sport
  • Technical
    • Forum Help
    • Computers and Internet
    • Announcements

Find results in...

Find results that contain...

Date Created

  • Start


Last Updated

  • Start


Filter by number of...

Found 1 result

  1. Arya

    Cost of Living

    Hi all, So hubby and I received our passports with visas and PR docs this week, the house is on the market, and we're getting ready to leave SA in October. Exciting stuff! I am currently working on my Canadian resume and will start searching for a job soon. Thing is, I need to get some idea of what our cost of living will be so that I can see if we could realistically live off my salary. I can get a rough idea of what salary I can expect to earn from job ads, but I don't know how much of this to deduct for taxes and other statutory payments. And then I don't know what transport, rent, internet, food, telephone, etc would cost. Could anybody give me an idea, or point me in the right direction? Some background information: We're moving to Edmonton, Alberta. I am a Chartered Management Accountant (CIMA qualified) with 10 years+ of experience. Currently working on having my CIMA qualification converted to CPA Alberta. I will try to find any role in accounting and am prepared to work at a more junior level than I am accustomed to. Not sure what salary to expect though. Hubby has 10 years of experience as a retail manager, but is currently studying full time to become a teacher. He is willing to do retail work in Canada and then later see if he can get into the Canadian education system. He can't work from around Feb to May of next year as he will have to study though, so we will have to be able to get by on just my salary during that time. No kids - just myself, my husband and two dogs. Looking to rent a house or apartment with a closed-in back yard for the dogs. Does anybody perhaps have a list of their monthly expenses that they can share? Or maybe you could just give the list without amounts, then I can at least do some internet research to fill out the amounts? Much appreciated!